Honoring Flemington Speedway’s Most Influential Persons, the inaugural recipient was Al Tasnady, and the award was renamed to honor him.

Voting for ten nominees gives a better chance for more of them to reach the two-thirds criteria, and allows for a truly democratic result. 

Voting Criteria:

1.) the supreme nature of the nominee’s accomplishments at (or for) Flemington Speedway

2.) the nominee’s primary identification with Flemington Speedway

3.) the consistency and duration of the nominee’s Flemington Speedway performance and service

4.) the nominee’s enthusiastic and enduring support of Flemington Speedway, professionally and personally

5.) the long term effects, beyond statistics, of the nominee’s influence on Flemington Speedway

How the Vote Works: Only current dues-paying members of FSHS are eligible to vote. Voters should take the time to learn about each nominee, and consider their Flemington career against the voting criteria. Note this is not a “Most Popular Persons” ballot. Each vote is an important privilege, and should be used for the worthiest nominees.  

The top five vote-getters receiving at least 67% (a two thirds majority) of votes from this ballot will be recognized with their own Tas Award. In the unlikely event no nominee receives 67% of the vote, a provisional yes/no vote will be held for the single highest vote-getter. 

Honored, thus far:
  • 2012
    • Al Tasnady  (inaugural) 
  • 2013
    • Paul Kuhl
    •  Billy Pauch
  • 2014
    • Stan Ploski 
    • Bill Singer  
    • Ace Lane Sr.  
    • Ken Brenn Sr.  
    • Sammy Beavers 
  • 2015
    • Jackie McLaughlin  
    • Ken Brenn Jr.  
    • Glenn Fitzcharles  
    • Jim Horton Sr.  
  • 2016
    • Gerald Chamberlain
    • Budd Olsen  
    • Ace Lane Jr.  
    • Bob Pickell 
  • 2018
    • ​Harry Dee
    • Kenny Brightbill
    • Billy Osmun
    • ​Ray Liss


This year, the TAS Award recipients are: Kenny Brightbill, Harry Dee, Ray Liss, and Billy Osmun.  

Flemington Speedway Historical Society will be hosting The TAS Awards in addition to an autograph session, open to the public, as part of the final day activities of the 11th annual Quaker Steak and Lube Dirt Track Heroes Car Show event at the Phillipsburg Mall on March 10th, 2018. The final day of the week-long event has always been a tribute to Flemington Speedway, and this year will be no exception! The Flemington Speedway Historical Society will be set-up in its familiar store front, the same space FSHS has occupied for years, with some surprise cars on display this year! You won't want to miss the FSHS display this year! Interested drivers, car owners, and racing personalities (from all eras and divisions) are welcome to participate in the autograph session and should contact FSHS!

We hope to see you there!

The Tas Award